Tracking Information

Step 1

Don't save your logon information. Always log out of Web sites by clicking "log out" on the site. It's not enough to just close the browser window or type in another address.
Many programs (especially instant messenger programs) include automatic login features that will save your user name and password. Disable this option so no one can log in as you.

 

Step 2

Don't leave your computer unattended with sensitive information on the screen. If you have to leave a public computer, log out of all programs and close all windows that might display sensitive information.

 

Step 3

Erase your tracks. Web browsers keep a record of your passwords and every page you visit, unless you tell them not to.

To disable the feature that stores passwords:

Before you go to the Web, turn off the feature that "remembers" your passwords.
1. In Internet Explorer, click Tools, and then click Internet Options.
2. Click the Content tab, and then click AutoComplete.
3. Click to clear both check boxes having to do with passwords.

To delete your temporary Internet files and your history:

When you finish your use of a public computer, you should delete all the temporary files and your Internet history.
1. In Internet Explorer, click Tools, and then click Internet Options.
2. On the General tab, under Temporary Internet files, click Delete Files, and then click Delete Cookies.
3. Under History, click Clear History.

Find out how to delete other files saved by corporate portals, by visiting Microsoft's Safety & Security Website.

Step 4

Watch for over-the-shoulder snoops. When you use a public computer, be on the look out for thieves who look over your shoulder or watch as you enter sensitive passwords to collect your information.

Information above taken from Microsoft's Safety & Security Website.